There are 4 different types of cards:
The units are building the most cards of the game, like this blue one here. They fight against each other and cause damage to the different players. Besides, the units have different abilities, which create many variable game-situations.
The main aspect of Card Party is definitively the gameplay-fun and the humour, that comes from the different card designs.
This is the attack-power of a unit.
This is the defense of a unit.
This is the number of points of damage a unit can handle to a player, when it hits his main-unit.
D20-Die-Symbol (Black = You May)
If an ability has a requirement of ( d20-die > 10 ), you have to overbid 10 with your die to activate that ability.
The black d20-die means, you MAY use this abilitiy, if you want to.
|D20-Die-Symbol (Red = You Must)
Unit-abilities require a dice-roll you MUST perform, if the requirements of that ability are fulfilled.
1) Shuffle all Cards and create 3 card-decks in the middle of the field.
2) All players get one 6-sided die and one 20-sided die.
Turn the six-sided die to 6. This are your life points. Your maximum life is 6. The d20-die is used to activate unit-abilities.
3) All players draw 7 cards one after another (clockwise).
4) Every player must place one main-unit.
5) When every player is ready, the game starts.
Now the very first player's turn begins.
The last player, whose main-unit remains on the field, wins the game.
There are also 8 yellow actioncards in the game, which allow you to win the game automatically. As long as the requirements of a yellow actioncard are fullfilled, you MAY play it out and automatically win the game.
You lose the game, when your life points become 0.
Besides there are exactly 2 yellow actioncards, which cause a game loss for all players at once.
If you lose, discard all your handcards and put all of your units into the graveyard.
Players begin their turns clockwise, except an ability affects this.
1) Beginning of your turn
2) Draw phase
3) Place phase
First you MAY place ONE new main-unit. A new main-unit overlays an old one.
After this you MAY place UP TO TWO new side-units, but maximal 2 (one on the left and one on the right). A new side-unit replaces an old one; the old one is put into the graveyard. When you place side-units during your place phase or at the very beginning of the game, their shield cannot be higher than your main-unit's shield.
You can only have one main-unit and two side-units (one on the left and one on the right).
You can never place actioncards or battlefield-cards as units (The only exception: "Partyball").
4) Main phase
5) If none of your units can attack any more - OR you declared the end of your turn, your turn is over
The abilities of a unit are written on the bottom half of the card.
1) Different types of unit-abilities:
- Permanent abilities:
These abilities are activated by a dice-roll (See "Symbols") . If an ability has a requirement of ( d20-die > 10 ), you have to overbid 10 with your die to activate that ability.
- Red d20-die-abilities:
Some d20-die-abilities are marked with a red d20-die-symbol. (See "Symbols")
- Permanent protective abilities:
2) When may I activate my unit's abilities?
You can roll a d20-die to
activate one of your unit's abilities only during your main phase. Some
abilities have explicit conditions that they may also be activated
during your opponent's turn, if, for example, an opponent wants to play
a green actioncard.
3) Replace units with new ones:
If you have to draw a card by some ability and you have to place it as a new unit, the following applies: If the drawn card is not a unit-card, immediately put the drawn card into the graveyard and repeat the process.
4) "Critical Hit"-ability:
This ability grants a unit an additional damage point.
You can only activate this ability during the block step of an attack.
All bonuses on that unit are lost at the moment it activates "Block".
6) More specific abilities: (See FAQ)
A unit always attacks another unit's shield-value with its own power-value, except an ability affects this.
After you've declared an attack, you MAY increase the power of your attacking unit by discarding unit-cards from your hand. Add the standard power-value of each unit discarded this way to the power of your attacking unit.
When you're done, increasing your attacking unit's power, the increasing step ends.
As soon as your opponent begins his or her block step, you can't discard any more unit-cards to increase the power of your attacking unit.
2) Block step:
When your unit is under attack and your opponent has declared the end of his or her increasing step, your block step begins.
3) Unblockable attacks:
Some units have the ability, that their attack can't be blocked until end of turn.
4) When an attack hits:
the increasing and block step both player check if the attacking unit's
power is higher than the attacked unit's shield-value.
5) Automatic hit:
Some unit-abilities and green actioncards cause an automatic hit of an attack.
6) Attack summary:
1) Declaration of your unit's attack against an opponent's unit of your choice.
2) Increase-Phase (Discard units to increase the attacking unit's power).
3) Block-Phase (Negating increasing cards / forcing a tie by discarding cards).
4) If your unit's power > the attacked unit's shield = Hit.
1) Green actioncards:
2) Yellow actioncards:
These cards cause an instant victory or defeat for a specific amount of players.
Yellow actioncards can be played at any time of the game, as long as their respective requirements are fulfilled.
1) Function of battlefield-cards:
2) When may I place a battlefield?
You can place a battlefield only during your turn.
+) What allows the "Divine Limbus" card to do exactly?
This card allows a player to think up a new game rule which does not directly affect the game factors mentioned on the card. So it is allowed to influence the phases of the game, the players themselves, and even the place where you are currently playing.
For example: one can play this card and say "All players must keep one eye closed until it's my turn again!" And then each player has to do this. Also possible would be the simple rule "All players skip their place-phase until it's my turn again.", because in this case none of the mentioned game factors on the card are directly influenced.
+) How do skills such as "Weapon Absorption" work?
Some units have the ability, that during attacking their power becomes the power of the attacked unit until the end of the attack.
It should be noted that all bonuses and penalties need to be considered on both cards.The Power of the attacking unit becomes the instantaneous power of the attacked unit + all increasing cards and abilities that affect the attacking unit's power at this moment.
+) When will I receive the damage caused by the ability of the "Suspicious Zodiac"?
The 3 damage points are simultaneously dealt to the successful automatic hit.
So if you have only 3 life, and your opponent has 2 life, and you make the decision, that the attack of the Suspicious Zodiac automatically hits, you both simultaneously lose all your life points and you both lose the game.
+) Does the "Multi Cosplay Girl" really copy everything of a unit?
No. The Multi-Cosplay-Girl only copies - as described in its ability - the values of attack, Shield and damage points, and all abilities of the copied unit.
Her name is still "Multi-Cosplay-Girl" and she is still a human.
+) If I have already activated the red d20-die-ability of a unit, can I still roll a die for its black d20-die-ability?
No. Black d20-die-abilities can only be used if no die was rolled for that unit in the same turn already.
+) Who is right if two players simultaneously want to activate a card (for Example each of those players want to play their own yellow action card)?
The faster player receives priority. Whose card is faster on the playing field, that card is activated.
+) In what order do unit abilities activate at the beginning of my turn?
This is always decided by the player who owns these units. For example: If you have three units on the playing field, which all have an ability that activates at the beginning of the turn, the turn player (You) must decide in which order the three abilities are activated.
+) When can I activate the first effect of "De-De-Death Cake"?
At any time during your main phase. The ability of the death cake is not a "permanent ability", but it does have costs - in the form of sacrificing your side-units. (See "Uni-Abilities")
At this point Nedliv would like to thank all the illustrators for the great collaboration and their great commitment!
Nosfera MacAbre • facebook.com/nosfera.macabre