on facebook on deviantart on youtube

blog projects convention card party contact
friends downloads pictures kickstarter sometree

This is madness? This is Card Party! A turn-based card game for 2 - 8 players. You can switch this manual to

Card Template



What exactly is Card Party?

It is a turn-based card game for 2 - 8 players.

There are 4 different types of cards:

Units,

Green actioncards,

Yellow actioncards,

and Battlefields.

The units are building the most cards of the game, like this blue one here. They fight against each other and cause damage to the different players. Besides, the units have different abilities, which create many variable game-situations.

The main aspect of Card Party is definitively the gameplay-fun and the humour, that comes from the different card designs.

 


OFFICIAL CARD PARTY RULINGS (by Nedliv)

• Symbols

• The Beginning of the Game

• The Phases of a Player's Turn

• Unit-Abilities

• Battle & Damage

• Green & Yellow Actioncards

• Battlefield-Cards

• FAQ

• Thanks to the Artists


Symbols:

Power Flash Power

This is the attack-power of a unit.


Power Flash Shield

This is the defense of a unit.


Power Flash Damage Points

This is the number of points of damage a unit can handle to a player, when it hits his main-unit.


Power Flash

D20-Die-Symbol (Black = You May)

This symbol represents the value, you have to overbid with a dice-roll to activate a unit-ability.
(See "Unit-Abilities")

If an ability has a requirement of ( d20-die > 10 ), you have to overbid 10 with your die to activate that ability.

The black d20-die means, you MAY use this abilitiy, if you want to.



Power Flash D20-Die-Symbol (Red = You Must)

Unit-abilities require a dice-roll you MUST perform, if the requirements of that ability are fulfilled.
(See "Unit-Abilities")

The Beginning of the Game:

 

1) Shuffle all Cards and create 3 card-decks in the middle of the field.

These are the common decks. Whenever a player has to draw cards, he or she chooses ONE of these 3 decks and draws only
from that deck in that moment.

2) All players get one 6-sided die and one 20-sided die.

Turn the six-sided die to 6. This are your life points. Your maximum life is 6. The d20-die is used to activate unit-abilities.
(See "Unit-Abilities")

3) All players draw 7 cards one after another (clockwise).

Choose ONE deck and draw 7 cards from only that one deck (see #1)
.

4) Every player must place one main-unit.

You may also place side-units at this time (but maximal 2)
.
(See "The Phases of a Player's Turn")

5) When every player is ready, the game starts.

Now the very first player's turn begins.
(See "The Phases of a Player's Turn")

6) Victory

The last player, whose main-unit remains on the field, wins the game.

There are also 8 yellow actioncards in the game, which allow you to win the game automatically. As long as the requirements of a yellow actioncard are fullfilled, you MAY play it out and automatically win the game.

7) Defeat

You lose the game, when your life points become 0.

Besides there are exactly 2 yellow actioncards, which cause a game loss for all players at once.

If you lose, discard all your handcards and put all of your units into the graveyard.
(See "Battle & Damage")

The Phases of a Player's Turn:

 

Players begin their turns clockwise, except an ability affects this.

1) Beginning of your turn

When the player before you ends his or her turn, your turn starts immediately.
(See "Green & Yellow actioncards" and "Battlefield-Cards")

2) Draw phase

You MUST draw 3 cards, except an ability affects this. The very first Player, who begins the game, draws only one card.

3) Place phase

You may skip the place phase.

First you MAY place ONE new main-unit. A new main-unit overlays an old one.

After this you MAY place UP TO TWO new side-units, but maximal 2 (one on the left and one on the right). A new side-unit replaces an old one; the old one is put into the graveyard. When you place side-units during your place phase or at the very beginning of the game, their shield cannot be higher than your main-unit's shield.

You can only have one main-unit and two side-units (one on the left and one on the right).

Unit Positions

You can never place actioncards or battlefield-cards as units (The only exception: "Partyball").

4) Main phase

During this phase you may activate unit-abilities and declare attacks with your units.
(See "Unit-Abilities" and "Battle & Damage")

5) If none of your units can attack any more - OR you declared the end of your turn, your turn is over

Unit-Abilities:

 

The abilities of a unit are written on the bottom half of the card.

1) Different types of unit-abilities:

- Permanent abilities:

Permanent active abilities apply, as long as their respective unit remains on the field, except another ability affects this.

- D20-die-abilities:

These abilities are activated by a dice-roll (See "Symbols") . If an ability has a requirement of ( d20-die > 10 ), you have to overbid 10 with your die to activate that ability.

- Red d20-die-abilities:

Some d20-die-abilities are marked with a red d20-die-symbol. (See "Symbols")
You MUST roll a die for the activation of these abilities, if their respective requirements are fulfilled.
You MUST roll the die, even if you already tried to activate another ability of the same unit with such an red d20-die-ability.

- Permanent protective abilities:

Some abilities activate automatically, if your units are attacked. Then these abilities add an specific amount of shield to the attacked unit's shield value. Such abilities are called "Protective Ability" and don't count as a block.
(See "Battle & Damage")

2) When may I activate my unit's abilities?

You can roll a d20-die to activate one of your unit's abilities only during your main phase. Some abilities have explicit conditions that they may also be activated during your opponent's turn, if, for example, an opponent wants to play a green actioncard.

Per unit you can only roll ONE die per turn (except red d20-die-abilities).

A unit that has already attacked this turn can't activate its d20-die ability afterwards.

If a unit has several d20-die-abilities, you have to declare which one you want to activate.

If a d20-dice roll fails, the ability is not activated and nothing happens.

3) Replace units with new ones:

If you have to draw a card by some ability and you have to place it as a new unit, the following applies: If the drawn card is not a unit-card, immediately put the drawn card into the graveyard and repeat the process.

4) "Critical Hit"-ability:

This ability grants a unit an additional damage point.
(See "Symbols")

For Example:
A unit has one damage point.
You successfully activate its ability "Critical Hit" and it gains an additional damage point until end of turn.
Now it attacks an opponent's main unit and the attack hits.
Your opponent now loses 2 life points at once.

5) "Block"-ability:

You can only activate this ability during the block step of an attack.

If a unit activates its "Block" ability, it is immediately put into the graveyard, and its standard shield value is added to the actual shield value of the attacked main unit.

All bonuses on that unit are lost at the moment it activates "Block".

6) More specific abilities: (See FAQ)

Battle & Damage:

 

1) Attack-declaration:

Each of your units can attack every one of your opponent's units of your choice, except an ability affects this.

A unit always attacks another unit's shield-value with its own power-value, except an ability affects this.

After you've declared an attack, you MAY increase the power of your attacking unit by discarding unit-cards from your hand. Add the standard power-value of each unit discarded this way to the power of your attacking unit.

When you're done, increasing your attacking unit's power, the increasing step ends.

As soon as your opponent begins his or her block step, you can't discard any more unit-cards to increase the power of your attacking unit.

2) Block step:

When your unit is under attack and your opponent has declared the end of his or her increasing step, your block step begins.

You may negate each single discarded unit-card by discarding one card of your choice from your hand (no matter if it is a unit, an action card or a battlefield).

You can also discard cards from your hand to make up the difference between the shield of the attacked unit and the power of the attacking unit.

For example:
Your opponent's unit's power is 10
Your unit's shield is 7
Now you must discard 3 cards from your hand to make up the difference and to force a tie.

All cards discarded during the increasing and block step are put into the graveyard afterwards.

During this phase of an attack you may also try to activate the "Block"-ability of your units.
(See "Unit-Abilities")

3) Unblockable attacks:

Some units have the ability, that their attack can't be blocked until end of turn.

If this happens, the player whose unit is attacked skips his or her block step during that attack. He or she can't discard cards from his or her hand and can't activate unit-abilities.

Permanent protective abilities of units are exepted. These abilities still automatically increase the shield of the attacked unit, because there is no action of its owner required.

4) When an attack hits:

After the increasing and block step both player check if the attacking unit's power is higher than the attacked unit's shield-value.
If this is the case, the attack hits.

When an attack hits a side-unit, it is put into the graveyard.

When an attack hits a main-unit, the owner of that main-unit takes damage equal to the damage points of the attacking unit.

Whenever you take damage, you draw the same amount of cards afterwards.

5) Automatic hit:

Some unit-abilities and green actioncards cause an automatic hit of an attack.

This only counts if the attack can be declared at all.

All phases of the attack are skipped, and regardless of all values of power and shield of all units involved in the attack, the attack hits automatically.

6) Attack summary:

1) Declaration of your unit's attack against an opponent's unit of your choice.

2) Increase-Phase (Discard units to increase the attacking unit's power).

3) Block-Phase (Negating increasing cards / forcing a tie by discarding cards).

4) If your unit's power > the attacked unit's shield = Hit.

Green & Yellow Actioncards:

 

1) Green actioncards:

You can play ONE green actioncard per turn, and only during your turn.

Some green actioncards have explicit conditions that they may be played during an opponent's turn, for example, if an attack hits your main-unit.

Some green actioncards have consequences, which last longer then just one turn. When you play such a card, put it in the middle of the field as a reminder. After the consequences of a green actioncard are completed, put that card into the graveyard.

If you have to draw a card and place it as a new unit due to a green actioncard, the following applies: If the drawn card is not a unit-card, immediately put the drawn card into the graveyard and repeat the process.
(See also: "Unit-Abilities")

2) Yellow actioncards:

These cards cause an instant victory or defeat for a specific amount of players.

Yellow actioncards can be played at any time of the game, as long as their respective requirements are fulfilled.

For example:
The card "Sudden Peace" can be played, if the player, who has this card in his or her hand, has only 1 life point left. As long as this condition is fulfilled, that player may show the card to all players at any time of the game and than instantly wins the game.

Battlefield-Cards:

 

1) Function of battlefield-cards:

Battlefields are placed in the middle of the field. The playing field then turns into that respective battlefield.

All units of all players are affected by the bonuses and penalties of a battlefield, as long as it remains on the field.

2) When may I place a battlefield?

You can place a battlefield only during your turn.

But you can place as many battlefields per turn, as you want.

Placing a new battlefield replaces the older one. The old battlefield is put into the graveyard.

FAQ

 

+) What allows the "Divine Limbus" card to do exactly?

This card allows a player to think up a new game rule which does not directly affect the game factors mentioned on the card. So it is allowed to influence the phases of the game, the players themselves, and even the place where you are currently playing.

For example: one can play this card and say "All players must keep one eye closed until it's my turn again!" And then each player has to do this. Also possible would be the simple rule "All players skip their place-phase until it's my turn again.", because in this case none of the mentioned game factors on the card are directly influenced.

 

+) How do skills such as "Weapon Absorption" work?

Some units have the ability, that during attacking their power becomes the power of the attacked unit until the end of the attack.

It should be noted that all bonuses and penalties need to be considered on both cards.The Power of the attacking unit becomes the instantaneous power of the attacked unit + all increasing cards and abilities that affect the attacking unit's power at this moment.

 

+) When will I receive the damage caused by the ability of the "Suspicious Zodiac"?

The 3 damage points are simultaneously dealt to the successful automatic hit.

So if you have only 3 life, and your opponent has 2 life, and you make the decision, that the attack of the Suspicious Zodiac automatically hits, you both simultaneously lose all your life points and you both lose the game.

 

+) Does the "Multi Cosplay Girl" really copy everything of a unit?

No. The Multi-Cosplay-Girl only copies - as described in its ability - the values ​​of attack, Shield and damage points, and all abilities of the copied unit.

Her name is still "Multi-Cosplay-Girl" and she is still a human.

 

+) If I have already activated the red d20-die-ability of a unit, can I still roll a die for its black d20-die-ability?

No. Black d20-die-abilities can only be used if no die was rolled for that unit in the same turn already.
However, red d20-die-abilities must be activated every time, if the conditions are fulfilled.
(See "Unit-Abilities")

 

+) Who is right if two players simultaneously want to activate a card (for Example each of those players want to play their own yellow action card)?

The faster player receives priority. Whose card is faster on the playing field, that card is activated.

 

+) In what order do unit abilities activate at the beginning of my turn?

This is always decided by the player who owns these units. For example: If you have three units on the playing field, which all have an ability that activates at the beginning of the turn, the turn player (You) must decide in which order the three abilities are activated.

 

+) When can I activate the first effect of "De-De-Death Cake"?

At any time during your main phase. The ability of the death cake is not a "permanent ability", but it does have costs - in the form of sacrificing your side-units. (See "Uni-Abilities")

Special Thanks to the Artists:

At this point Nedliv would like to thank all the illustrators for the great collaboration and their great commitment!

Nosfera MacAbre • facebook.com/nosfera.macabre
Sylvaroth Designs • www.sylvaroth-designs.de
Kuro Lana • facebook.com/YuukioLin
Trahho • facebook.com/akemi.grimm
Masakohime • masakohime.deviantart.com/
Creative-Caro • creative-caro.deviantart.com/
Tryingtofly • tryingtofly.deviantart.com/

Jason Wang • www.jason-w.com/
Fuzzyzebra • fuzzyzebra.deviantart.com/
MayeMaya • mayemaya.deviantart.com/
Ein457 • ein457.deviantart.com/
Lun-art • lun-art.deviantart.com/
Malachi78 • malachi78.deviantart.com/
Elsevilla • elsevilla.deviantart.com/

KevKeaf • kevkeaf.deviantart.com/
Design-yse • design-yse.deviantart.com/
Landish • alexlandish.deviantart.com/
Axel Dissmann • waterkant.de
Mathieu Aubry • gandalfleblond.deviantart.com/
Talenya • facebook.com/an.ke.106
Tanja Krieger • facebook.com/tanja.krieger.391

Luziver • facebook.com/luziverleonie

to top